Shop
Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - January-February 2018
See what's in the January-February 2018 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Facebook 

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest news reports from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Tue, 16 Jan 2018  

Coming soon! Our new website


Fri, 05 Jan 2018  

Early morning spectacular


Sun, 31 Dec 2017  

Did you see the fireball on 31 December?


Sat, 16 Dec 2017  

Mira the Wonder Star approaches maximum


Mon, 11 Dec 2017  

See the best meteor shower of the year


Sun, 03 Dec 2017  

Today's 'supermoon' - what's all the fuss?


Sun, 19 Nov 2017  

Spectacular Leonid photos


Tue, 14 Nov 2017  

Will there be a Leonid meteor storm?


Wed, 01 Nov 2017  

Keep an eye on Iris


Tue, 31 Oct 2017  

Spooky nebulae


Fri, 20 Oct 2017  

The real October meteors appear


Mon, 16 Oct 2017  

Orange Sun seen in sky


Tue, 10 Oct 2017  

An ASASSN in our skies


Sat, 07 Oct 2017  

Meteors? What meteors? Fake News strikes again


Mon, 25 Sep 2017  

Venus and Mars approach


Thu, 14 Sep 2017  

Watch the planets dance in the morning sky


Fri, 01 Sep 2017  

Tracking Florence


Sun, 27 Aug 2017  

Comet ASASSN in our skies


Mon, 21 Aug 2017  

After the eclipse...


Tue, 15 Aug 2017  

Be prepared for the (not-so-)great eclipse