Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - September-October 2017
See what's in the September-October 2017 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Facebook 

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest news reports from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Thu, 14 Sep 2017  

Watch the planets dance in the morning sky


Sun, 10 Sep 2017  

An ASASSN in our skies


Fri, 01 Sep 2017  

Tracking Florence


Sun, 27 Aug 2017  

Comet ASASSN in our skies


Mon, 21 Aug 2017  

After the eclipse...


Tue, 15 Aug 2017  

Be prepared for the (not-so-)great eclipse


Sun, 13 Aug 2017  

Perseid meteors still appearing


Fri, 11 Aug 2017  

The Perseids are here


Sat, 22 Jul 2017  

Bright new Russian 'star'


Fri, 16 Jun 2017  

Midsummer clouds shine


Fri, 09 Jun 2017  

Jupiter as you've never seen it before


Wed, 17 May 2017  

A supernova and a comet


Sun, 14 May 2017  

What's that bright star?


Tue, 25 Apr 2017  

What's that bright star?


Thu, 20 Apr 2017  

Look for Lyrid meteors


Tue, 18 Apr 2017  

An asteroid passes Earth


Tue, 11 Apr 2017  

What's that bright star?


Sun, 09 Apr 2017  

A Close Encounter of the Planetary Kind


Sat, 08 Apr 2017  

See the ISS


Sun, 02 Apr 2017  

See Mercury and the ISS