Officers of the society

Patron: Professor Sir Arnold Wolfendale, FRS, 14th Astronomer Royal

To contact the society, please use the Contact link in the top menu.


President

Stephen SerjeantProf. Stephen Serjeant

Stephen is a cosmologist at the Open University and is very keen on communicating astronomy to the public, such as through his brilliant 60-Second Adventures in Astronomy‘ animation series. 


Vice President

Robin Scagell
Robin Scagell

Robin has been a member almost since he first learned to walk. He is well known for producing some of the most useful guide books to astronomy you will find.
Email: robin@popastro.com


Secretary

Guy FennimoreGuy Fennimore

Guy is our super-efficient Secretary who ensures that everything runs as smoothly as possible, and keeps everyone else in order.

36 Fairway, Keyworth, Nottingham NG12 5DU. Email: secretary@popastro.com


Membership Secretary

Graham JonesGraham Jones

Graham took over in 2018 and is responsible for keeping our membership lists up to date.

Email: membership@popastro.com


Treasurer

Dusko NovakovicDusko Novakovic

Dusko’s job really counts!

Email: treasurer@popastro.com


Publicity Officer

Robin Scagell
Robin Scagell

Robin doubles up as Publicity Officer when he’s not Vice Presidenting
Email: publicity@popastro.com


Popular Astronomy Editor

Osnat Katz

As well as editing Popular Astronomy, Osnat can be heard on our Sound of Astronomy podcast.

Email: editor@popastro.com


Webmasters

Paul Sutherland, Robin Scagell

What’s the saying – jack of all trades, webmaster of none? We keep the pages going, write features and news stories, create artworks….

Email: webmaster@popastro.com


Council members

Ian Robson

Prof. Ian Robson

Ian, a leading light in UK professional astronomy, joined the society when he was a teenager, and remains an enthusiastic supporter.


Margaret PenstonDr. Margaret Penston MBE

Margaret used to study stars at the Royal Greenwich Observatory, and is now a tutor for the Open University. 

 


Alice Sheppard

Our citizen-science guru, Alice keeps us informed about how we can push forward the frontiers of science from our laptops!


Paul SutherlandPaul Sutherland

Paul is a prolific freelance writer who also runs the Skymania astronomy news website.