Synscan v4 polar alignment

The place to discuss telescopes, binoculars, CCDs and other equipment

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

Post Reply
PRBenson
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:06 am
Contact:

Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by PRBenson »

After an observatory refurb I have been getting my mount back into working order and that has meant doing the polar alignment all over again.

I have the EQ8 without the polar scope so have been using the Synscan v4 routine instead. Only problem I can't get around is that each time I complete the 3 star alignment it keeps telling me the errors from the previous alignment are being applied.

How can I clear the previous error values and start afresh. Seems little point otherwise!
TMB152;Tak TOA150/FSQ106ED;Lunt LS152T/LS60THa;Orion 16" Dobsonian;Meade 14" LX200GPS
Canon 5DmkIII;DMK 21AU618;ASI 120M
AP 1200GTO;EQ6 Pro
speedy21
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:12 am
Location: earby lancs
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by speedy21 »

I have just got the sanscan v4 at Christmas and I get the same on mine even tho it finds the objects no problem it's a strange one would like to know my self it doesn't come up with it if you don't 're aligin as if you set it up in the houes not on stars it doesn't come up with the message
Skywatcher 200p explorer EQ5 mount synscan upgrade kit
Nikon D3100
Brian
Posts: 3722
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:58 pm
Location: Wellingborough
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by Brian »

I don't have the Synscan system, but is your error message the "NPE Error"?

According to the v4 handbook section 11.7 "Non-perpendicular error (NPE) occurs when the mount’s two axes are not orthogonal." It says the value for Cone error and NPE can be user-set , and "Generally, NPE is very small and can be ignored(Set to 0) in most cases unless superior pointing accuracy is required"

Regards,
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.

254mm LX90 on Superwedge, WO ZS66SD, Helios 102mm f5 on EQ1, Hunter 11x80, Pentax 10x50
ASI120MC Toucam Pros 740k/840k/900nc mono, Pentax K110D
Ro-Ro roof shed
speedy21
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:12 am
Location: earby lancs
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by speedy21 »

hi have you figured out the message on the synscan v4 I still get it but I have just found out that if I put the time to +01.00 and have it on daylight savings it brings the target stars in nearer to the center of the eyepiece don't know how your ailment is are you bringing the stars in from a long way or are they near center wold be great to find out if you have solve this problem. please get back to me and we can see if we can put our heads togeather and work out the message. I do know it dosent display the message if you set it up in the home and pick 3 stars but don't re-align the mount as you wold on a star see if yours dose the same
Skywatcher 200p explorer EQ5 mount synscan upgrade kit
Nikon D3100
johnandersonm777
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:16 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by johnandersonm777 »

How is these Scope for Star gazing?
speedy21
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:12 am
Location: earby lancs
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by speedy21 »

Eh ???
Skywatcher 200p explorer EQ5 mount synscan upgrade kit
Nikon D3100
speedy21
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:12 am
Location: earby lancs
Contact:

Re: Synscan v4 polar alignment

Post by speedy21 »

Think I have found something out try clearing the pec data. When you set the mount and do you set up if the mount comes up with the message park the scope the clear the data the do another alignment
Skywatcher 200p explorer EQ5 mount synscan upgrade kit
Nikon D3100
Post Reply