Society for Popular Astronomy

Officers of the society

Patron: Professor Sir Arnold Wolfendale, FRS, 14th Astronomer Royal

To contact the society, please use the Contact link in the top menu.

 

President

Robin Scagell

Robin has been a member almost since he first learned to walk. He is well known for producing some of the most useful guide books to astronomy you will find.

Email: robin@popastro.com

Vice President

Prof. Tim O’Brien

Tim has a bigger telescope than most of us in his “back garden”. It’s the world-famous Lovell dish at Jodrell Bank where he runs the show for the University of Manchester.

 

Vice President

Prof. Stephen Serjeant

Stephen is a cosmologist at the Open University and is very keen on communicating astronomy to the public, such as through his brilliant 60-Second Adventures in Astronomy‘ animation series. 

 

Secretary

Guy Fennimore

Guy is our super-efficient Secretary who ensures that everything runs as smoothly as possible, and keeps everyone else in order.

36 Fairway, Keyworth, Nottingham NG12 5DU. Email: secretary@popastro.com

Membership Secretary

Graham Jones

Graham took over in 2018 and is responsible for keeping our membership lists up to date.

Email: membership@popastro.com

Treasurer

Dusko Novakovic

Dusko’s job really counts!

Email: treasurer@popastro.com

 

Publicity Officer

Currently vacant

Email: publicity@popastro.com

Popular Astronomy Editor

Dr Amanda Doyle

As well as editing Popular Astronomy, Amanda is a freelance science writer.

Email: editor@popastro.com

Webmasters

Paul Sutherland, Robin Scagell

What’s the saying – jack of all trades, webmaster of none? We keep the pages going, write features and news stories, create artworks….

Email: webmaster@popastro.com

Council members

Dr Amanda Doyle

Amanda is currently Editor of Popular Astronomy

 

Prof. Ian Robson

Ian has been a member of the SPA since he was a teenager, and remains an enthusiastic supporter.

Dr. Margaret Penston MBE

Margaret used to study stars at the Royal Greenwich Observatory, and is now a tutor for the Open University. 

Alice Sheppard

Our citizen-science guru, Alice keeps us informed about how we can push forward the frontiers of science from our laptops!

Paul Sutherland

Paul is a prolific freelance writer who also runs the Skymania astronomy news website.